About R. Franklin James

I grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area. My love of writing began in childhood when I wrote rambling tales of pirates and damsels in distress. As an adult, my penchant for writing took a more pragmatic path.

After graduating from UC Berkeley and completing a Master’s Degree Program in Public Policy from Cal State University at Hayward, I wrote legislation and public policy.  As Assistant Administrator for the Los Angeles Redevelopment Agency and then working in the LA Legislative Analyst office, I honed my skills in California redevelopment law. I was honored to be appointed a Deputy Mayor of Los Angeles by Richard Riordan.

After years in L.A., I became homesick for Northern California. I accepted a position as Director for Redevelopment for Placer County and eventually put aside my government career.

Following my career in public service, I returned to my passion for fiction writing. Those many years of immersion in law and criminal behavior inspired a mystery series. My 2013 debut novel, The Fallen Angels Book Club, was the first of a contracted six-book series, published by Camel Press in Seattle, Washington. The second in the series, Sticks & Stones, was released May 2014 and The Return of the Fallen Angels Club, published in 2015. The fourth in the series, The Trade List, will be released June 2016.

I’m honored to serve on the board of Sisters in Crime-Sacramento Capitol Crimes Chapter. 

Additional professional memberships include:

  • Board member, Bouchercon International
  • Mystery Writers of America
  • Northern California Publishers and Authors
  • Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers

I reside in Northern California with my husband.

My Amazon author page is here.







Also Available

Sticks & Stones by R. Franklin James

The Fallen Angels Book Club by R. Franklin James

An ambitious paralegal’s membership in a book club of white-collar ex-felons threatens her chances to clear her name when murder and betrayal become part of her real life next chapter.

Coming In June:
The Bell Tolls
Book Five in the
Hollis Morgan
Mystery Series